Sunday, September 12, 2010

Aubertine Visits John D. Murray Fire Museum

Board of Directors Thanks Senator for his Visit and Hard Work on Behalf of Community

OSWEGO (September 10, 2010)—State Sen. Darrel J. Aubertine on Thursday met with the board of directors for the John D. Murray Fire Museum, touring exhibit, which honors the city of Oswego Fire Department and Chief Murray who served the department for 37 years, 16 as chief.

“What’s on display here honors the work done by these dedicated first responders to serve and protect this community,” Sen. Aubertine said. “The people of Oswego can be proud of this department, the men and women who serve, and also this exhibit which celebrates more than 130 years of history. I want to thank the board and firefighters for all they do and for taking the time to share with me their stories.”

The Board of Directors thanked the Senator for visiting the museum, his work and recognition of the department. “The Senator is a hard worker and he’s working for the people of Oswego,” Retired Deputy Chief and Museum Treasurer Richard Cummings said. “We want to thank him for taking the time to meet with us and tour the museum.”

Chief John D. Murray served the people of the City of Oswego starting his work in fire department in 1940 and rising steadily through the ranks, attaining the rank of Fire Chief in 1961. Chief Murray, who retired in 1977, had a way with most of the men and was well appreciated. The City fathers listened and John headed one of the best departments in the state.

In 1971, Chief Murray became president of the New York State Chief's Association and served until 1972. In 1994 the Fire Museum was started and named in his honor. The history of the department started in 1876, when the City of Oswego saw the need to change from many volunteer units to one paid fire department. In 1994 several of the firefighters formed a committee to preserve their heritage and the dream of a fire museum was developed.

Later a Board of Directors was formed, the men involved in this endeavor were Dick Ackerman, Tom Amedio, Hank Babcock, Bill Crego, Bob Clark, Richard Cummings, Tom Jones, Jack Saddington, David Thompson and Bruce Turner. Community members donated scrap books and collections, helping the department’s past to reappear. The museum features three fire trucks—a 1925 LaFrance, a 1939 LaFrance and a 1952 Mack pumper. The Museum is now filled with memories of the department’s long history. For more information visit:


No comments: